Scattering of votes for both the alliances inevitable in Bettiah

A total of 10 candidates are contesting the Bihar Assembly elections from the Betiah assembly constituency. Madan Mohan Tiwari, the sitting Congress Member of Legislative Assembly (MLA) from the Grand Alliance (Grand Alliance), is in the fray once again. At the same time, Renu Devi, the Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP) candidate from the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) is contesting the election. Here too, there were many ticket contenders in both the major coalitions, who were showing disagreements in the past if they did not get the ticket. However, the parties are claiming to have denied them. JAP’s Dr. Sabita Singh Nepali and NCP’s Parvez Alam are preventing the alliance from coming face to face. Renu Devi, who became MLA four consecutive times since the year 2000, was defeated due to ethnic mobilization and polarization of minority votes in the last election here. In such a situation, there will be a need to stop the scattering of votes to win here.
Key Issues of the constituency include:

  • Encroachment in the city.
  • Flood and pain of flood victims in Majhaulia.
  • Gasping city due to jam problem
  • Water logging in the city.

Total Candidates: 10

Key Candidates: Madan Mohan Tiwari (Congress), Renu Devi (BJP), Dr. Savita Singh Nepali (Public Rights Party)

Stone pelting on BJP leader in Gopalganj, 14 injured

“Slums of Patna”- a quantitative ‘story’ of ignored sufferings

Aamir Khan

Aamir Khan is a student at the Centre for Chinese and South-east Asian Studies, JNU, New Delhi. He also works with Hasratein- a Delhi based queer collective. The current area of his academic interest lies in the study of the Chinese language and society.