IPL 2022: Ravindra Jadeja will now take over the command of CSK as Dhoni leaves captaincy

There has been a big reshuffle in the Indian Premier League (IPL) on Thursday. Mahendra Singh Dhoni has left the captaincy of Chennai Super Kings (CSK). All-rounder Ravindra Jadeja has been given the command in his place. Dhoni will continue to play with the team as a player.

This time the Chennai team had retained 4 players including Jadeja and Dhoni. Jadeja was retained by the franchise for Rs 16 crore. Whereas Dhoni was retained for this season only for 12 crores. From this, it was guessed from the very beginning that Jadeja could be made the captain. Apart from him, Moeen Ali was retained for 8 crores and Rituraj Gaikwad for 6 crores.

Jadeja will be the third captain of the Chennai team

33-year-old Jadeja has been with the Chennai team since 2012. He will be the third captain of the CSK team. Mahendra Singh Dhoni was heading the team since the first season of IPL i.e. 2008. While captaining in 213 matches, Dhoni has led the team to victory in 130 matches. In between, Suresh Raina has also captained in 6 matches, out of which the team won only 2 matches.

Dhoni, 40, has been the captain of CSK since the league’s inception in 2008 and this could be his last IPL. He has already retired from international cricket.

Sunil Gavaskar has also admitted, ‘Ravindra Jadeja has matured as a player over the years, the way he has developed in terms of his game and the way he plays according to match conditions. Yes, that is wonderful.’

The opening match will be played between Chennai and Kolkata

The decision of this major reshuffle in the captaincy has been taken by Chennai Super Kings’ Management just two days before the start of the tournament. The tournament will start on March 26. The opening match will be played between the defending champions Chennai Super Kings (CSK) and Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR). Under the captaincy of Jadeja, the Chennai team will enter the field this time with the intention of saving their title and winning the 5th title.

Chennai Super Kings Squad:

Retention List– Ravindra Jadeja (16 crores), MS Dhoni (12 crores), Rituraj Gaikwad (8 crores), Moeen Ali (6 crores).

Batsmen/Wicketkeepers– Robin Uthappa (2 crores), Ambati Rayudu (6.75 crores), Devon Conway (1 crore), Subhranshu Senapati (20 lakhs), Hari Nishant (20 lakhs), N Jagadeesan (20 lakhs).

All-rounders – Dwayne Bravo (4.40 crores), Shivam Dubey (4 crores), Rajvardhan Hengergekar (1.50 crores), Dwayne Pretorius (0.50 crores), Mitchell Santner (1.9 crores), Prashant Solanki (1.20 crores), Chris Jordan (3.60 crores) , Bhagat Verma (20 lakhs).

Bowlers – Deepak Chahar (14 crores), KM Asif (20 lakhs), Tushar Deshpande (20 lakhs), Mahish Teekshna (70 lakhs), Simarjit Singh (20 lakhs), Adam Milne (1.90 crores), Mukesh Chaudhary (20 lakhs) .

Squad Strength – 25 (17 Indian, 8 Foreign)