NDA candidate Vijay Kumar Sinha declared elected as the Bihar Assembly Speaker

The ruling NDA won the election for speaker of Bihar Legislative Assembly. MLA from Lakhisarai assembly seat Vijay Kumar Sinha has become the speaker of Bihar Legislative Assembly. He has defeated Mahagathbandhan candidate Awadh Bihari. The entire voting process was concluded amid an uproar by opposition leaders. 240 members participated in the voting process. Out of this 126 MLAs supported Vijay Kumar Sinha and 114 MLAs voted for Awadh Bihari.

Protem Speaker Jeetan Ram Manjhi asked the people in favor of NDA candidate Vijay Kumar Sinha to raise their hands for the Speaker’s election, followed by the MLAs favoring Awadh Bihari. Meanwhile, the number of MLAs of both the parties was counted.

Opposition uproar over CM Nitish’s presence in the House
During the voting, the opposition was against the presence of Chief Minister Nitish Kumar, Minister Ashok Chaudhary, and Minister Mukesh Sahni. The opposition stated that these leaders were not members of the assembly, hence they have no right to stay in the house. This demand was denied by the Protem Speaker. He said that the Chief Minister is the leader of the House, so it is not illegal for him to stay here. Protem speaker Jeetan Ram Manjhi reminded that Manmohan Singh was always present in the Lok Sabha as a member of the Rajya Sabha but he was not involved in the election process. Similarly, Lalu Prasad Yadav used to be present in the Bihar Legislative Assembly with Rabri Devi as the Chief Minister of Bihar Vidhan Sabha.

Secret ballot demand not accepted
Protem speaker Manjhi was not ready for the secret vote even on the opposition’s repeated demand for it. He said that there is no such provision in the Constitution that a secret ballot has to be held. Amidst all this, the opposition leaders kept creating a ruckus.

Target to conduct 20 thousand RT-PCR tests in Bihar to prepare against the second wave of COVID-19