Constituency Profile: Supaul

Supaul Vidhan Sabha constituency in the Supaul district of Bihar comes under the Supaul Bihar Lok Sabha constituency.  The total literacy rate of Imamganj Block is 57.67% and the sex ratio is 929. Supaul’s population is 84.96% rural and 15.04% urban. It is an unreserved constituency.

The major religion is Hinduism with a share of 81.20% in the total population, followed by Islam with 18.36%. Major castes include Upper caste, OBCs, and the Scheduled Caste (13.14%) with ST only accounting for 0.31% of the population.

As per Delimitation of Parliamentary and Assembly constituencies Order, 2008, Supaul (Vidhan Sabha constituency) is composed of the following: Supaul municipality; Gopalpur Sire, Bakaur, Ghuran, Baruari, Pipra Khurd, Ramdatt Patti, Balwa, Karnpur, Laukha, Basbitti, Goth Baruari, Ekma, Balha, Bairo, Sukhpur Solhni, Telwa, Bairiya, Chainsinghpatti, Malhni, Parsarma Parsauni gram panchayats of Supaul community development block; and Marauna CD Block.

In 2010 and 2015, Bijendra Prasad Yadav from the Janata Dal-United (JDU) beat Ravindra Kumar Raman of the Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) and Kishor Kumar of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) respectively.

Major problems pertaining to waterlogging, illiteracy, and lack of proper channels for communication exist in the area.

Constituency Profile: Kishanganj

Constituency Profile: Muzaffarpur

Aamir Khan

Aamir Khan is a student at the Centre for Chinese and South-east Asian Studies, JNU, New Delhi. He also works with Hasratein- a Delhi based queer collective. The current area of his academic interest lies in the study of the Chinese language and society.